Tuition and Fees

Tuition

Curriculum tuition is charged per credit hour up to a maximum of 16 credit hours per semester. Tuition and expenses are subject to change at any time. Costs are provisional depending upon the action of the North Carolina State Legislature. To view a complete chart of tuition charges, click here. For residency requirements, click here.

Beginning with the Spring 2016 semester:

In-State

$76.00 per semester hour
$1,216.00 for 16 or more hours

Out of State

$268.00 per semester hour
$4,288.00 for 16 or more hours

*For tuition purposes, a full-time student is one who is enrolled for 12 credit hours or more. Credit hours are computed by the following formula: 1 credit hour = 1 class hour, 2 lab hours, or 3 manipulative shop hours.

Fees

All curriculum students (excluding) will pay $29.25 in fees each semester at the time of registration.

  Technology Fee

$16.00

  Activity Fee

$7.00

  SGA Emergency Fund

$1.00

  Parking

$4.00

  Student Insurance

$1.25

Total  

$29.25

The College provides an inexpensive student accident insurance program. A group policy offering the desired insurance protection will be maintained in effect by the College, and all students (including high school students) are required to obtain this coverage. Where applicable, costs are subject to change annually.

Student Parking Permit

Anyone wishing to park a car on campus must purchase a parking permit at the Business Office.


Statement Regarding Student Expenses

All tuition and fees are payable on the date of registration. Acceptable payment methods include cash, credit or debit cards (including VISA, Discover, American Express or MasterCard), and checks or money orders made payable to Tri-County Community College. A check given in payment of expenses that is returned by the bank results in indebtedness to the school and places your enrollment in jeopardy. Failure to pay in a timely manner will result in student records being forwarded to a collection agency for final recovery.

If you receive financial assistance such as vocational rehabilitation, scholarships, grants, etc., make certain that you have formal authorization filed in the Business Office prior to registration.


Fulfillment of Financial Obligations

No student will be allowed to register for a new semester if he/she has an unpaid balance from the previous semester. No student will be permitted to graduate and no transcript of credit will be issued if he/she has an unpaid balance due.


Refunds

A 100% refund shall be made if you officially withdraw prior to the first day of classes of the academic term as noted in the college calendar. Also, you are eligible for a 100% refund if the class in which you are officially registered is cancelled due to insufficient enrollment. A 75% refund shall be made if you officially withdraw from the class(es) prior to or on the official 10% point of the term (per 23NCAC2D.0202). The 10% point is calculated from the first day of each semester.  No refunds will be issued if you drop a class or withdraw after the 10% point.

Important Notice About Schedule Adjustments – What should you do if you need to make a schedule adjustment after the term begins? North Carolina Administrative Code has determined that a student’s refund will be limited to 75% if a class is dropped after the beginning of a term. If the student plans to drop one class and add another in its place, TCCC recommends the student drops/adds at the same time before the last day to add classes in order to avoid the 25% charge.  Refer to the current schedule of classes for the last day to drop/add classes, as the drop deadline is not the same as the add deadline.

Procedure for Refunds – If you wish to receive a refund, first go to the Registrar to complete an official drop form and receive a new schedule. All students should follow this procedure to receive a refund. Refund checks will be mailed to students prior to the end of the semester in which the refund is to be made.

Bookstore – Follett Bookstore Management operates the bookstore on campus. All refunds that are made require proof of purchase and a withdrawal slip from the class. NO REFUND will be made at any time for used books. Books that have been marked or written in are used books. Periodic “used book” purchase times will be announced.

Military Refunds – On August 15, 2014, the State Board of Community Colleges (SBCC) voted to amend the following rule: 1E SBCCC 900.4 – “Military Refund” the rule will be effective September 1, 2014 and may be seen below.

1E SBCCC 900.4      Military Refund

(a) Upon request of the student, each college shall:

(1) Grant a full refund of tuition and registration fees to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty or active duty personnel who have received temporary or permanent reassignments as a result of military operations that make it impossible for them to complete their course requirements; and
(2) Buy back textbooks through the colleges’ bookstore operations to the extent allowable under the college’s buy back procedures.

(b) Colleges shall use distance learning technologies and other educational methodologies, to the extent possible as determined by the college, to help active duty military students, under the guidance of faculty and administrative staff, complete their course requirements.

History Note:        Authority G.S. 115D-5; G.S. 115D-39;
Eff.        May 16, 2014;
Amended Eff.         September 1, 2014.